©2019 by Phi Delta Theta. Proudly created with Wix.com

History of Cal Zeta

Here is a photo of our young Phi Delt chapter in the year 1969/1970 after winning the fraternity division in softball but losing to an independent team in the finals.

 Photo courtesy of Bob Sherwin (Bond #38)

On April 22 1967, California Zeta became the sixth Phi Delta Theta chapter in the state of California. At the time that our chapter was established, the University was still known as San Fernando Valley State College. It wasn't until a couple years later in 1972, that the University changed it's name to California State University Northridge. In 1975, California Zeta became one of the first chapters to own a house at Cal State Northridge. To this day, Phi Delta Theta is the only fraternity at the University with a permit to operate as an official Fraternity House. In 2017, California Zeta celebrated it's 50th anniversary where alumni and current students reunited to celebrate our chapter's continual success. As of Fall 2019, California Zeta has initiated over 1,100 members including the former president of the General Council, Chris Lapple, former member of the General Council and current Chapter Advisor, Stan Gilson, and many other successful CEO's in various businesses.

Founding Fathers

Robert Morrison

John Wolfe Lindley

John McMillan Wilson

Ardivan Walker Rodgers

Robert Thompson Drake

Andrew Watts Rogers

Famous Phis

Neil Armstrong | Purdue '55 Astronaut, First man on the moon

Benjamin Harrison | Miami 1853

23rd US President

Lou Gehrig | Columbia '25

MLB Hall of Famer